Primary (KS1&2)

Sapere Aude, explorare Aude - Dare to know, dare to explore

PRIMARY – KS1&2 (Ages 5-11)

Our comprehensive and engaging primary school curriculum is built on the best of global and UK standards, and features the English and Welsh National Curriculum, Cambridge Primary and International Primary Curriculum. English is taught as a discrete subject through Cambridge Primary as well as through interdisciplinary themes where relevant. Mathematics is taught using the Abacus scheme. The remainder of the curriculum is integrated into exciting themes and delivered through the International Primary Curriculum. ICT contributes to learning and teaching in all areas and is integrated into teaching throughout the curriculum, as well as being taught as a discrete subject. Art, Drama, Languages, Music & Singing and Physical Education (PE) classes are taught by specialist teachers.



The Cambridge Primary English curriculum closely follows the National Curriculum and aims to develop learners’ confidence, creativity and intellectual engagement. It covers knowledge, skills and understanding in the three strands, Reading, Writing, and Speaking & Listening. Designed to be successful in any culture and to promote cross-cultural understanding, our English curriculum enables learners to acquire first language competency in English. For more information on Cambridge Primary, please visit:

Abacus Mathematics

Abacus is a toolkit developed by experts and current practitioners for UK and international schools. It contains high quality resources and tools for teachers and children, which develop in-depth understanding and playful enjoyment – both key to helping children reason mathematically. These materials are proven to enable all children to develop mastery and to succeed in maths. Abacus aims to develop within students conceptual understanding, numerical fluency, problem-solving skills and mathematical confidence.


The IPC is a comprehensive and creative curriculum with a clear process of learning and specific learning goals for every subject, international mindedness, and personal learning. The IPC ensures rigorous learning and makes all learning exciting, active and meaningful. Children connect their learning to where they are living now as well as from the perspective of other people in other countries through its global approach.

The IPC focus on children’s learning is a combination of knowledge, skills and understanding. The learning goals define what children will be expected to know, what they will be able to do, and the understanding they will develop as they move through school. The learning goals are divided into three areas:

  1. The subject goals: these cover the knowledge, the skills, and the understanding for each of the following subjects: Language Arts, Mathematics, Science, ICT, Technology, History, Geography, Music, Physical Education, Art, and Society.

  2. The personal goals underpin those individual qualities and learning dispositions children will find essential in the 21st century, and include personal goals for enquiry, resilience, morality, communication, thoughtfulness, cooperation, respect and adaptability. Children are provided with opportunities to experience and practise the personal goals during each unit of work.

  3. The international goalsthese include include the development of a sense of a student’s own identity alongside an understanding of the identity of others;  understanding of the independence and interdependence of people, cultures and countries; and a degree of focus on the host as well as the home country. Specific learning-focused activities help children develop the skills and mindset to become global citizens who make active, positive contributions to society.

The IPC is divided into different age ranges called mileposts:

  • Milepost 1: 5 to 7 years (Years 1 & 2)
  • Milepost 2: 7 to 9 years (Years 3 & 4)
  • Milepost 3: 9 to 12 years (Years 5 & 6)

Each Milepost has a wide range of exciting thematic units to choose from. There is a distinct learning process with every IPC unit, providing a structured approach to make sure that children’s learning experiences are as stimulating and rigorous as possible. Each theme is introduced through an Entry Point which is designed to engage children in their learning, and finishes with a grand finale to celebrate all that has been achieved. For more information on the IPC, please visit: